Read More Usborne

Building literacy one children's book at a time…

Owning Books vs. Library Card

on May 4, 2011

This is such a great guest blog post by Read Aloud Dad… I really like how he points out that owning books and owning a library card are so different and don’t really overlap that much – BOTH are important!

Thanks Read Aloud Dad!

2 responses to “Owning Books vs. Library Card

  1. How cool is this?

    Dedicating one of your posts … to one of mine!

    That’s the definition of “super cool”!

    Thanks so much for promoting the “Owning Book vs. Library Card” post that I submitted for Children’s Book Week to the Early Childhood School Library blog.

    I’m so glad that you feel the same way! It is incredibly important to open up the gates that separate our kids from books. Our kids are totally dependent on us in this respect.

    You know, let me tell you a secret, this post of yours was a double surprise – because just earlier today I emailed my wife the Kids Treasure Books Quote of the Day for May 3.

    “If you want to raise readers, you must provide them with books as soon as humanly possible. This is a parental obligation on par with vaccinations.”
    – Deirdre Donahue, children’s book reviewer, USA Today ”

    My wife emailed me back – how much she loved the quote!

    And then – a couple of hours later – boom!

    What do I see – your shout out for my post.

    Thanks a million!

    Made my day!

    Read Aloud Dad

Leave a Reply

